Types of Caviar

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Caviar and other Seafood topics.

What kinds of caviar are there?

Types of Caviar

Caviar comes from three species of sturgeon in the Caspian Sea. Caviar from each has its own special characteristics.

Beluga caviar: Coming from the largest of the sturgeon species, Beluga caviar is light to dark gray in color with large granules and a delicate skin.

Osetra caviar: These are dark brown to golden in color with large granules and a delicate skin. Golden Osetra, the most rare of Caspian Sea sturgeon, produces a limited quantity of light golden eggs, sometimes referred to as "Royal Caviar."

Sevruga caviar: These eggs are smaller, with a fine dark gray color.



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Seafood Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Lynda Moultry